Tippecanoe School Corporation
Three TSC teachers honored with Golden Apples
Sue Scott

Greater Lafayette Commerce has announced the winners of the Golden Apple awards. Three of the five teachers are from the Tippecanoe School Corporation: Dana Crum, Jessica Harris and SunShine Waber.

Dana Crum teaches Family and Consumer Sciences at East Tipp Middle School. She has been teaching for 22 years and has a bachelor’s degree from Purdue University. East Tipp Principal Shaad Buss says Crum blends traditional classroom values with an innovative approach to teaching students life lessons including how to sew, cook and balance a checkbook. “You will be hard pressed to find anyone who focuses more on real world skills needed to become a successful adult in society,” says Buss.

Dana Crum and her family

Jessica Harris is a Title 1 teacher at Mayflower Mill Elementary School. The Purdue University graduate has been teaching in the TSC for 15 years. Principal Shannon Cauble says Harris has created a classroom setting to support students educationally, socially and emotionally when they have exhibited challenging behaviors: “Her alternative classroom program keeps students in school learning instead of out of school suspension, and it also provides support for students struggling behaviorally.” 

Harris with students

SunShine Waber teaches kindergarten at Mayflower Mill Elementary School. She has 18 years of experience and holds a bachelor’s degree from Purdue University. Waber is a dedicated teacher with an amazing ability to connect with students and families to impact a child’s social development, as well as their academic achievement. “It is very common to see Mrs. Waber dressed up in costume or singing songs with her students,” says Principal Cauble. “Students have the opportunity to play, explore and learn about the world in her kindergarten classroom.”

Waber with principals and TSC administrators

The Golden Apple Award recognizes and celebrates the positive contributions of educational leaders in Tippecanoe County. Students, parents, administrators and colleagues nominate teachers for the award. The Chamber received more than 100 nominations this year.

Greater Lafayette Commerce will honor the winners at a ceremony in March.